Barnes & Thornburg Names Leadership for 2017-2018


Robert T. Grand has been re-elected managing partner of Barnes & Thornburg and chairperson of the management committee. He will lead Barnes & Thornburg’s management committee for 2017-2018. Mark E. Rust has been re-elected as vice chairperson and Karen A. McGee has been re-elected secretary of the management committee. John C. Smarrella has joined as a first-year at-large member.

Management committee members and officers are:

Firm Managing Partner:

  • Robert T. Grand – Indianapolis – Chairperson

Office Managing Partners:

  • Stuart C. Johnson – Atlanta
  • Mark E. Rust – Chicago – Vice Chairperson
  • William A. Nolan – Columbus, Ohio
  • D. Randall Brown – Fort Wayne, Indiana
  • Robert W. Sikkel – Grand Rapids, Michigan
  • Brian L. Burdick – Indianapolis
  • David C. Allen – Los Angeles
  • Connie A. Lahn – Minneapolis
  • Philip J. Faccenda, Jr. – South Bend, Indiana
  • Karen A. McGee – Washington, D.C. – Secretary

At-Large Management Committee Members:

  • Terri L. Bruksch – Indianapolis
  • Michael A. Carrillo – Chicago
  • Andrew J. Detherage – Indianapolis
  • Jeffrey A. Hopper – Indianapolis
  • William M. McErlean – Chicago
  • Peter A. Morse, Jr. – Indianapolis
  • John C. Smarrella – South Bend, Indiana
  • Melissa A. Vallone – Chicago
  • Donald E. Williams – Indianapolis

With more than 600 attorneys and other legal professionals, Barnes & Thornburg is one of the largest law firms in the country. The firm serves clients worldwide from 13 offices in Atlanta, Chicago, Dallas, Delaware, Indiana, Los Angeles, Michigan, Minneapolis, Ohio and Washington, D.C. For more information, visit us online at or on Twitter @BTLawNews.