President Trump Nominates Barnes & Thornburg’s Damon Leichty to Federal Bench


SOUTH BEND – President Donald J. Trump has nominated Barnes & Thornburg LLP partner Damon R. Leichty to become a federal judge for the United States District Court for the Northern District of Indiana.

If confirmed, he will fill the vacancy left by the retirement of The Honorable Robert L. Miller, Jr., for whom Leichty clerked earlier in his legal career. Confirmation proceedings have yet to be scheduled.

“We are extremely proud of Damon and this extraordinary opportunity before him,” said Philip J. Faccenda, Jr., managing partner of Barnes & Thornburg’s South Bend office. “This is a distinct honor for those of us in the legal profession, and this nomination is a testament to Damon’s abilities and accomplishments as a lawyer at our firm. We look forward to supporting him throughout the confirmation process.”

For nearly 20 years, Leichty has represented clients in complex civil litigation in more than 25 federal and state jurisdictions across the United States. He regularly counsels manufacturers on product liability, non-competition and other contracts, warnings, warranties, and various strategies to develop and market good products.

Leichty routinely advises on federal practice and procedure and has presented on the topic. He is an adjunct professor at the University of Notre Dame Law School.

He earned his J.D., cum laude, from Indiana University Maurer School of Law, where he won the school’s Sherman Minton Moot Court competition and served as a law journal editor. He received his bachelor’s degree, summa cum laude, from Wabash College. He also earned a master’s degree studying literature and law at the University of Aberdeen in Scotland.

More information about Leichty’s nomination can be found here.

With more than 600 attorneys and other legal professionals, Barnes & Thornburg is one of the largest law firms in the country. The firm serves clients worldwide from 14 offices in Atlanta, California, Chicago, Delaware, Indiana, Michigan, Minneapolis, Ohio, Texas and Washington, D.C. For more information, visit us online at or on Twitter @BTLawNews.